PDA

View Full Version : Balancer removal

dtr352
11-30-2005, 01:36 PM
I am trying to remove the harmonic balancer from my bbc. I already removed the crank bolt from the front. I believe it is a two piece balancer. Do I need to remove the three torx bolts too or does it come off in one peice like a stock unit?

rich seibert
11-30-2005, 02:14 PM
i do not know exactly what kind of balancer you have , but it should come off with a puller/complete/...... if it come off in 2 pieces it may not be any good,if you can swing it use a sfi balancer, safer in the long run,
my 2 cents,
good luck

dtr352
11-30-2005, 02:35 PM
The balancer is an SFI Superdamper. I just looked at it again and there are six torx bolts not three that I believe allow it to be rebuilt and indexed. I am curious because I have never tried to remove one like this before. Usually balancers come off fairly easy, but this one broke my craftsman puller and my new proform puller and never seemed to move. What the hell am I doing wrong?

Infomaniac
11-30-2005, 02:40 PM
Who installed it?
ATI balancers must be honed for proper fit. if not, it takes dynamite to get them off. if it is an internal balance engine, do not take it apart.
Get yourself a good puller that has a solid round body with a bearing in the center. Proform makes one. Get them at Doug herbert, Summit etc.

dtr352
11-30-2005, 02:48 PM
Who installed it?
ATI balancers must be honed for proper fit. if not, it takes dynamite to get them off. if it is an internal balance engine, do not take it apart.
Get yourself a good puller that has a solid round body with a bearing in the center. Proform makes one. Get them at Doug herbert, Summit etc.
It is Teague motor. They installed it and as far as I know nobody has ever removed it. I have heated it around the crank snout and sprayed penetrating oil but the thing won't move. I have the proform puller you are talking about but it seems powerless. Any ideas?

fleetimus
11-30-2005, 03:37 PM