PDA

View Full Version : Bowl Modification Questions

Hipshot
12-03-2005, 02:34 PM
I know that it is best to leave full bowl flowing modifications to the pros but I would like to know if there are any minor areas or modifications that could be addressed myself that would improve things? I have been porting cylinder heads and intakes for 17 years and I am a self proclaimed master of the die grinder, so handling the tools isn't a problem. Can anyone give good accurate advice on the areas that should be reshaped/sharpened/material removed etc. etc.? I have both a Berkeley bowl and a Dominator bowl from the late eighties that are in stock form.

Taylorman
12-03-2005, 03:24 PM
Whatever you do, get proffesional advice before you do anything. I bought a used split bowl a while back, made my boat drive like shit. I did not know that the bowl was the problem cause i changed the bowl and diverter at the same time. I blamed the diverter till i sent it back to where i bought it from. HTP told me the bowl had been modified by someone who obviously did not know what they were doing. I bought a new bowl and it fixed my problem.

Hipshot
12-03-2005, 04:26 PM
I here ya Taylorman that's why I am on here asking.

sidewound
12-03-2005, 04:57 PM
I was advised against doing mine myself.
I saw these posted awhile back. Maybe you can get an idea from them.
VANES
http://www.hotboatpics.com/pics/data/500/3371Vanes.gif
VANE MAGIC
http://www.hotboatpics.com/pics/data/500/3371VaneMagic.gif
Peace Man! :cool:
CESAR

Squirtin Thunder
12-03-2005, 05:09 PM
How about the front of the bowl ???
I was advised against doing mine myself.
I saw these posted awhile back. Maybe you can get an idea from them.
VANES
http://www.hotboatpics.com/pics/data/500/3371Vanes.gif
VANE MAGIC
http://www.hotboatpics.com/pics/data/500/3371VaneMagic.gif
Peace Man! :cool:
CESAR

Hipshot
12-03-2005, 05:25 PM