PDA

View Full Version : Ridge reamer?

miller19j
12-10-2002, 03:16 PM
Ok please excuse my ignorance. I am new to engine rebuilding
In reading my rebuilding book it says that I need a ridge reamer to ream the ridges in the top of the cylinder before I remove my pistons. It seems to make sense but why couldnÂ’t I slide my pistons out the bottom after removing the crank? Am I missing something or can I just do it that way?

78Eliminator
12-10-2002, 03:22 PM
miller19j:
Ok please excuse my ignorance. I am new to engine rebuilding
In reading my rebuilding book it says that I need a ridge reamer to ream the ridges in the top of the cylinder before I remove my pistons. It seems to make sense but why couldnÂ’t I slide my pistons out the bottom after removing the crank? Am I missing something or can I just do it that way?A ridge reamer is to clean the actual pistons, not the cylinder...

miller19j
12-10-2002, 03:29 PM
Now I am confused are you messing with me 78.
My book shows a device in the top of the cylinder that is turned by a ratchet or a t-handle. According to the book if you donÂ’t remove the ridge at the top of the cylinder you will destroy your rings and possibly your piston.
I donÂ’t know if I can reuse the pistons or not but I want to leave my options open in case I can.

flat broke
12-10-2002, 03:32 PM
No, A ridge reamer is to remove the ring of carbon etc that is sometimes at the top 1/4" or so of the cylinder. Depending on how tired your motor is you may not even need one. Don't worry about it until you have the rods loose and can see if you can push the piston out of the top of the cylinder. As far as why you can't pull them out the bottom, pull the pan and I think it will become clearly evident :) The way most blocks are designed there are major structural components in the lower areas that would make it impossible to get the rod and piston assmbly out the bottom.
Hope that helps,
Chris

Kindsvater Flat
12-10-2002, 03:33 PM