PDA

View Full Version : What's needed to go from BB Ford to BB Chevy?

patrolman808
05-27-2006, 09:47 AM
Hey guys, I'm new to the boating scene. I'm going to be getting a really clean jet boat from a buddy, but it has a 460 that needs a little work, and I want to switch it over to either a 454 or tall deck 427 that another buddy has. What all is needed to do the swap? Any sites where I can buy the parts? Thanks.

AZKC
05-27-2006, 09:55 AM
Hey guys, I'm new to the boating scene. I'm going to be getting a really clean jet boat from a buddy, but it has a 460 that needs a little work, and I want to switch it over to either a 454 or tall deck 427 that another buddy has. What all is needed to do the swap? Any sites where I can buy the parts? Thanks.
Its according to what you want and/or have. Rex Marine will have almost everything you need. You'll need new engine mounting stuff and exhaust mainly.
There are 3 motor mounting systems commonly used. 3 point, 4 point, and rail kits (which is pretty much a 4 point). Then decide on the exhaust. Then get your check book out :)
What kind of boat? Got pics of whats in there now?

patrolman808
05-27-2006, 11:20 AM
Thanks. He's going to send me some pics this weekend since his boat is at his buddys shop. I'll see if I can post them up. I just remember that it's yellow with blue stripes around the outside and matching interior. It'd match my truck perfectly :cool: I's a late 70s model, looks kinda like a Centurion or a Southwind from what I can remember with a tandem trailer.

berk
05-27-2006, 12:05 PM
you will need a pto, which i have a new one, for sale, 50$ delivered. :)

AZKC
05-27-2006, 12:40 PM
He can probably use his PTO but he may need a new crankshaft mount/adapter that the PTO bolts to. :boxed:

LakesOnly
05-27-2006, 02:31 PM
patrolman808,