PDA

View Full Version : New cam break in

cave
06-15-2006, 06:41 PM
I drove to Bartlett lake today to break in the new cam. Nice day to be out there. Its a Clay Smith Jet boat grind . Before the motor would just go flat @ 3900. I could get it to 4200 but its wasn't a jet boat cam.
I got yelled at after a 10 minutes of running the engine at 2500 rpms on the trailer. Crybaby jet skiers. Heck they were on the other side of the cove. This is my first time breaking in a cam in a boat. The end result was music to my ears. Just a tiny bit of a lope. I'm Happy. Everything looked good under the Intake.
Check it out if you have time
new cam break in (http://s78.photobucket.com/albums/j107/cave13/?action=view&current=ClaySmithcambreakinmpg.flv)

junkyardhunter
06-15-2006, 07:42 PM
I am running a claysmith 306 solid, what grind do u have & how well does it run.

cave
06-15-2006, 07:49 PM
H-280-8-BHL
Not a radical cam. Just the right cam for a jet boat. I would of liked to get the H 300 but I just wanted a better a working cam for the boat. As soon as I tapped the throttle I felt the difference. The motor responds quicker too. I added timing gears rather than the chain. I could barley hear the gears. New hydraulic lifters from Clay Smith. The springs were fine for this grind.

junkyardhunter
06-15-2006, 08:16 PM
sounds like u got the right one.

Squirtcha?
06-15-2006, 08:44 PM
H-280-8-BHL
Not a radical cam. Just the right cam for a jet boat. I would of liked to get the H 300 but I just wanted a better a working cam for the boat. As soon as I tapped the throttle I felt the difference. The motor responds quicker too. I added timing gears rather than the chain. I could barley hear the gears. New hydraulic lifters from Clay Smith. The springs were fine for this grind.
I've been running the H-300 for the past three years (going on the fourth season). Been real happy with it. Clay Smith makes a nice cam.

cave
06-15-2006, 08:51 PM