PDA

View Full Version : electrical problems???

squirt'nmyload
07-04-2006, 07:34 AM
Hello all, i'm new to jet boating and new to this forum and i have a question. I got a 74 wriegt maverick with a 460 in it. I had it out on the lake yesterday and ran it around for a good 4 hours(not all at once) when all of a sudden while cruising the engine shut down. When i tried to restart it, it was acting like the battery was dead and wouldn't turn over. Luckly my friends were there with their boat so they towed me in and i put her on the trailer. I just went into my garage and tried to start her up this morning and it turned over fine, it tried to start and when turning the key off the starter kept turning and before i could disconnect the battery the solenoid was starting to smoke. Does any of you think the solenoid may have got wet causing these problems? It is mounted on the bellhousing in the back of the boat. Any feedback is greatly appreciated!!!! Brian

BrendellaJet
07-04-2006, 07:46 AM
Id start by replacing the solenoid. Then look over all of your connections in your starting circuit and rewire as necessary. Make sure all connections are clean(not corroded) and tight.

460 jus getn it
07-04-2006, 07:51 AM
Sounds like you have a solenoid problem. Replace that and run it.

FASTRAT
07-04-2006, 09:34 AM
if its the solenoid...find a new location to mount it when u replace it to avoid future problems!...also as BJ said...ck all ur connections...if u have the wire block for all ur electrical connections on the back of ur motor...ck them to make sure they are clean & cover them with clear silicone to keep the water from corrodeing them
fastrat
p.s. there are alot of good Ford people around ur way...dont hesitate to ask any of them if u need any help!

squirt'nmyload
07-04-2006, 10:17 AM
thanks for the suggestions....I'm goin to replace the solenoid and relocate it and give it a shot
brian

GunninGopher
07-04-2006, 03:36 PM