PDA

View Full Version : complete re gel coat

axkiker
07-13-2006, 05:08 AM
Hey I keep hearing that a complete re gel coat is very difficult to do on your own. Can someone fill me in why. I am a custom car painter and have recently done a few spot jobs on my boat with gel coat. Seems like really easy stuff to work with. I just sand , clean, spray then wet sand and buff. The stuff is 10 times easier to buff than clearcoat. I can see where the dry time makes things a little more difficult. Now I have not tried any big areas or hulls. So before I get into regelcoating the entire top half of my boat can someone fill me in on the specifics
thanks

EXTREMEBOATS
07-13-2006, 07:34 PM
Sounds like you can perform the operation... Its just more work then may want to do.Picture this....You block sand the whole boat and do repairs. Now you spray many coats of gel. And it looks like a "coble stone" street, now the work... You start blocking it down to a 1200 or even1500 grit, get your buffer out and polish it.... Here's a common prob, if you sand thru anywhere you start over or you will have a "Halo" arond the spot. I have only done a few in 20 years and "I" wont do another. Now I do regel the bottoms when I restore a boat. Then paint it the rest of the way up. Feel free to call if you want more "encouragement"
Mike

SmokinLowriderSS
07-14-2006, 02:38 AM
I just redid the gel on the bottom half of my Taylor SS
Purchased here:http://www.fibreglast.com/
Sand everything down (I went about 50 grit orbital), repair any damage/holes, whatever.
The layering goes as follows:
Color layer (or layers)
I sprayed red glitterflake so red glitter went in the clear layer over the top of the red layer.
Giltter sprayed in first clear layer.
spray 4 to 6 layers of clear.
Each layer needs to be .010 to .020" thick (a LOT thicker than paint).