PDA

View Full Version : Loader Question??

OLDMANSOLDSBOAT
07-17-2006, 10:19 PM
Will running a loader cause an rpm drop at WOT while at speed?? We're Running an A/T A cut impeller. If I stomp on it from a dead stop the rpm's Jump to about 4900-5000 then after about 4 or 5 seconds and alittle speed the rpm's settle down to about 4500 rpm's. It seams like maybe it's cavitating, but wouldn't that take alot of HP??

Goober
07-17-2006, 10:22 PM
I am new to this but i have an idea. Sence you are now loading the impeller with more water then it should take more hp to get to the same rpm.

Cas
07-17-2006, 10:29 PM
It seams like maybe it's cavitating, but wouldn't that take alot of HP??
nope, if it's a center blocker type loader it's possible to cavitate on the hole shot especially if you have some weight in the boat.

Cs19
07-17-2006, 10:48 PM
Will running a loader cause an rpm drop at WOT while at speed?? We're Running an A/T A cut impeller. If I stomp on it from a dead stop the rpm's Jump to about 4900-5000 then after about 4 or 5 seconds and alittle speed the rpm's settle down to about 4500 rpm's. It seams like maybe it's cavitating, but wouldn't that take alot of HP??
Your probably just cavitating the jet. As the speed goes up you start to pick up some water and the pump is then loaded with water and the r's come down.If you stand on it from a dead stop you blow the pump dry before it can pick any water up.
It doesnt take loads of HP to cavitate a jet drive, if the pump is loose or the impeller is beat up it will cavitate even worse.

OLDMANSOLDSBOAT
07-17-2006, 11:28 PM
Will running the loader show a noticeable drop in rpm's at speed compared with running no loader? In other words does it take more HP to turn the impeller if its loaded??

centerhill condor
07-18-2006, 04:38 AM