PDA

View Full Version : Tell me what u know about Tahiti jetboats.

Goober
07-19-2006, 12:16 AM
I am looking at an 86 with a BBC. It is original gel was in good condition and everything else has been reworked at sometime or another in the last 5 years. Boat has not floor but full length stringers and seats are mounted to them so i am guessing that is lighter than most 86's. I am not realy intrested in the fack that it will run 80mph but i want to start with a great platphorm that i dont have to go back and fix.
question when i was talking to the guy he said it would do 80mph on a B impeller at 5100rpms does this seem right or is it a little off.
I have never built a BBC before and would like to know how much it would cost to rebuild the motor N/A with new heads, cam and bottom end for 500hp and on the spray go to 650-700hp.

YeLLowBoaT
07-19-2006, 12:49 AM
80mph is atleast 20mph high. a Berk B spin 5100 is only making 359 hp( assuming its a berk impeller... even if its not the most power it could have is about 410-420 if they are using a domm or aggressor impeller)
Oldrigger is the man to talk to about tahitis.
As far as building a 500 hp n/a motor.
For a good motor that will last years( I am fordged pistons/rods, maybe crank) your looking at about 3.5k-5k. Now if you can do some of it yourself you can save up to a grand.
If you hunt down parts here/swapmeets/other websites... you can save more.
Just make suer you keep your compression in check. runing race/avi gas in a family /lake boat hurts alot.

Goober
07-19-2006, 01:33 AM
thats what i was thinking on the MPH unless this thing is lighter than snot.
I can do all motor work myself exsept and this goes for almost everyone here the mechine work. 3-5k is what i thought but i was not sure.
Only 2 mods i think i will do this year are a droop and some AL heads if i get this boat.

centerhill condor
07-19-2006, 02:41 AM
we have one at center hill. in a van down by the river. 455.

old rigger
07-19-2006, 06:56 AM