PDA

View Full Version : I Need help..Canfield heads w/ stud girdle probs.

poncho-pwr
07-21-2006, 10:36 PM
As most of you here probably know, I build Pontiac motors for a living/hobby and that is where my expertise mainly resides. I do however build quite a few Chevys/Fords/Mopars and don't usually have common parts problems that elude me. I am just trying to finish up a blown 427 BBC for a customer and we put his Canfield 310s off of a N/A motor that he had been running on it. I get to the point of installing the brand new from Canfield stud girdles that we recieved from the UPS man this morning and I noticed that the adjuster nuts are not on the same angle as the flat spots in the girdles. I have never messed with Canfield heads before so I don't know if this is normal or not. It is not so severe that I can't fix it with a little grinding here and there to make them work, but I was just wondering if they maybe sent the wrong girdles or if I got a poorly made set. I figure I can't reach anyone at Canfield until Monday so I thought I would ask here as well as some of the other hotrod car sites and see if anyone had run into this before.

GofastRacer
07-22-2006, 04:29 AM
There was a thread on this not too long ago, and according to Chris this is the number you need, 1116!..

steelcomp
07-22-2006, 07:52 AM
There was a thread on this not too long ago, and according to Chris this is the number you need, 1116!..The Canfield girdles don't fit. I had to take a cartridge roll and modify where the adjusters contact the girdles. I was pretty frustrated with the whole thing. I had bought a girdle from Competition Products along with my Canfields, and when I got it, it looked like some mass produced generic stud girdle. I called Canfield and asked them to send me the one for their heads ...guess what. Same identical freekin girdle! :rolleyes:

poncho-pwr
07-22-2006, 09:48 AM
Thanks guys. I will try to get thbe proper girdles Monday. If I can't I will modify these.

PC Rat