PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with boat questions and pics of possible first boat

franco802
07-24-2006, 07:39 PM
Hello all, this place is awsome!!
I have been looking for my first boat and had a couple of questions first.
For starters, I found a boat I might buy. It's a 1986 Bayon 16 footer with a v6 Merc 150 with 3 carbs. I don't know much about these boats, so mabe you guys would definitely know more than me. Here is a link to the picks I have taken of the boat.
http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/code592115/detail?.dir=69afre2&.dnm=9a33re2.jpg
What do you guys think? He want's $2200.00 or best, I am going to offer him $1800.00.
I am mostly going to use this boat for cruising the bay and some light fishing once in a while. Also, I looked up Bayon on the internet and didn't find anything at all. Also, what do you guys think of the Merc 150 v6 with 3 carbs?
I have never worked on boats, but I was an auto technician for quite a while and still work on my own cars. I am pretty mechanically inclined but never worked on boats like I stated earlier.

boats&bars
07-24-2006, 10:26 PM
it looks like a winner , does it run, dont let the seller give you the old , dead battery line, hear it run on the hose that boat should haul ass with a merc 150, or also referred to as a black max, check the transom poke it with a screwdriver from the inside it should be solid, check the floors they need to be solid as well a good way to tell is if the interior is not firmly mounted it would be a good runner for 2 k if it infact runs, also thats got 6 carbs , expect to get it home and drain the fuel, lower unit , change plugs, and change the water pump before it goes out if not you are just asking for problems, expect to spend $500 before it sees water you will thank yourself later,

franco802
07-25-2006, 06:00 AM