PDA

View Full Version : How Do I Run Motor With Dry Pump?

jfarrjl
08-15-2006, 07:17 AM
Im new to this jetting experience and am dying to get my boat into the water!
I recently purchased a Glastron CV-21. It has a JC-A Drive with a 455 Olds. I am trying to run the motor before putting it in the water. Im not sure what to do. (1) I was about to pull the hose coming out of the pump goiung to the intake manifold; cut it in half and run one garden hose into the motor, and take a second and run it into the pump. Would theis work? (2) I heard the there sometimes is grease fittings on the pump, to grease the wear ring. Where are these fittings? What type of grease should I use? I guess while Im talking about grease, how often should I grease the pump, and which fittings on the pump need to be greased?
Please help me get this motor tuned up so I can drop my jet into the water, Tahks for all the help.

Squirtcha?
08-15-2006, 08:07 AM
It's not advisable to run your pump dry at all. I'll tell you that I start mine just for a few seconds (literally) to make sure all is fine before going to the lake. Most would tell you that's not even good (and they'd be right). Really the only safe way to run the motor for more than a few seconds would be to disconnect the pump from the motor (remove the driveshaft). The concern is not so much cooling the motor, but running the pump without water, which will wear it out prematurely. If you decide to go this route, your idea of supplying cooling water to the motor will work.
There's only one grease zerk and it's on top of the pump just behind where the driveshaft/PTO connect. Give it a shot or two each time out. If you over grease it (not necessarily a bad thing) it'll sling grease all over the place. I use a synthetic grease that you can buy at any auto parts store, but even axle grease would be better than no grease.