PDA

View Full Version : So who has the Right Of Way?

Her454
08-23-2006, 06:17 PM
Here's the situation. Anyone familiar with Lake Pardee Dam, built in the 1920's? It has two bridges the span the top of it. Both are very narrow bridges since it was originally built in the time of the Model A etc. Only a few years ago did we get a traffic light across one of the bridges since it was getting too narrow to manuever two cars through safely. Its now a green light only pass. The other bridge is still two lane but still very narrow. You can see over this bridge to the other side so you obviously know if someone is ON or getting ready to cross it. I've been driving both of these bridges for 20 years now and the general rule is that if you see someone already on the bridge and they are bigger than you, then you let them pass as a courtesy and dont try and squeeze through. If its a smaller car and there is room then its a safe pass. TONIGHT tho, Im crossing the bridge and I am more than half way across. (DID I mention that ANY bridge scares the bejeeeeezus out of me no matter how much I cross it?) A guy in a big Dodge truck pulling an RV starts out across it. Now, even in my Nissan Maxima I know there is a snowballs chance in hell that we both can squeeze through that bridge. He keeps coming and of course I have to stop. We are at a standstill. I wouldnt want to back that biatch of a trailer up and off the bridge to let someone through, but then again I would have waited................. SO, I have to back up almost the entire fuc'ng bridge to let him proceed through. Guy was about 70 or so and I was pretty pissed but all I could think of was my grandpa as he smiled and waved to me as he passed :mad: WHO HAS THE RIGHT OF WAY IN THIS SITUATION? Doesn't happen very often but it sucks when it does and courtesy gets the best of me but I'd like to know the actual law?

Jordy
08-23-2006, 06:23 PM
I believe the "Bigger Than Rule" takes effect in this case.