PDA

View Full Version : Just a double or triple check !!!!

shagmebabe
08-26-2006, 03:26 PM
Being as I double & triple check most things before firing a motor....... and being as this is my first time using hydraulic lifters and this motor has been sitting for a couple of years. I primmed the oil pump before installing the distributor then went to adjust the valves. Well..... I'm going to zero and then a half turn. Some of the lifters seem pumped up and a little spondgy and some dont. Do I have to turn over the enging and reprime to pump up all the lifters or do I have collasped lifters. I dont mind readusting the valves after start up, But I will have to take off the headers to get to the valve cover bolts. And if I adjust with the lifter not pumped up will I more than likley bend a push rod ? Help !!!! quick I want to have the engine installed and fired by tomorrow

YeLLowBoaT
08-26-2006, 03:44 PM
Read the insuctions that came with your lifters( if you don't have them just pull one and find out who made it and ether call or look it up online) Fallow thier instructions on how to set them. Most of them are diffrent.

SmokinLowriderSS
08-26-2006, 04:22 PM
The lifters are spring loaded to full extension, albeit with not very heavy springs. If you are not ham-handed in locating zero lash, you can add 1/4 turn or so (1/2 wouldn't be harmfull) and no risk of bending pushrods. I would agree with YB and try to find out whose lifter it is, my reccolection of stock GM's is zero plus 3/4 turn. My Isky Superlifters are zero plus 1/4 turn, a lot of difference. Find out whose it is, get theirt directions if possible, and then PUT A GOOD WAD OF BREAK-IN LUBE ON THE BASE as a precaution. I'd also run less spring if possible (multiple spring set) just to give it a easier time the first run out while you get everything going again.

shagmebabe
08-26-2006, 04:29 PM
Thanks for the input. But why to some feel springy and some dont ?

shagmebabe
08-26-2006, 04:32 PM