PDA

View Full Version : Thermostat vs. gate valve

caribbean20
09-04-2006, 11:41 AM
I've been running a thermostat on my jet boat motors for the last 14 years. I had some work done by a socal jet shop this winter (roller cam, rockers, intake, etc.) and the shop plumbed my motor for an open system without using the thermostat, without telling me (they used the same thermostat housing, only no thermostat inside). Boat ran fine but got no water temperature (they didn't bother to install a gate valve).
Since no water temperature, I had a different shop in Boulder City (I keep the boat in Vegas) install a thermostat. This shop does not normally work on jets and they likely did not recognize the fact that it was not plumbed for a thermostat, as did I. Long story a bit shorter, after hauling the beast all the way up to Shasta, I burned a hole in my starboard side exhaust hose. I inspected the situation, removed the thermostat and installed a new hose. Same result. Inspected again, checked water lines, exhaust risers (EMI Thunder) and water was coming out of the exhaust on both sides in a similar quantity, at idle speed. After running the boat for about 5 minutes, the starboard side hose was getting a lot more hot than port, ready to burn yet another hole. I am stumped.
I took the boat to another socal jet shop (a shop everyone on this board just raves about) to fix this problem and several others and this guy tells me they never see a jet plumbed for a thermostat. They always use a gate valve.
Questions:
1) Any guesses as to why I keep burning a hole in the hose? There must be an obstruction but it sure looks like water is coming out of this exhaust just fine, at least at idle.
2) Anyone else running a thermostat? I would prefer to keep this, it worked fine for many years, but shop #3 sure seemed puzzled at the notion of using a thermostat.
My equipment is pretty standard, BBC (Gen VI with GM Marine aluminum heads), Berk pump.

Oldsquirt
09-04-2006, 11:52 AM