PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here w/ ????'s

Diabolic
09-10-2006, 07:25 PM
I currently do not have a boat, but am looking at one here in Arlington Tx to purchase. I don't want to get hosed so I figured I would join and ask opinions as to wether its a good deal or not. The boat is a 1991 Liberator 21' tunnel hull. It has a V8 300 horse Johnson outboard, 2 aluminum fuel tanks, and a driver and pasenger seat. The guy told me it has a new transom???? He said the engine was a 1993 model and was modified to 350 hp. The boat has a rubber bumper around the entire boat that was just replaced and the gel coat was sanded off from the bumper up. Below the rubber bumper the paint and gelcoat look perfect. He told me it would cost $1000 to re-gelcoat the top half. Does this sound correct. The trailer is a tandom axle with rotten tires. He is going through a divorce and is really strapped for cash. Boat is just sitting out in the weather and was full of leaves, grass, and rain water. He said I could have it all for $7500. Is this a good deal? I don't have a clue in the world so I was hoping to join this site and get some input. Thanks for your help! :)

YeLLowBoaT
09-10-2006, 07:37 PM
Well with all you have said it needs/ has been done. I would go over that boat with a micro scope looking anything else wrong. IMO $7500 seems alittle high from your discription.
oh yeah $1000 to regel a deck... maybe in a dream world. more like 5k, hell it would cost you ~ 500-700 just for the materials.

Diabolic
09-10-2006, 07:43 PM
Is it not possible to apply a clear coat instead of a gel coat since the top half wont be in the water all the time? Is a 1993 V8 300 horse Johnson a good engine? It looks huge on that boat! What would that boat be worth with a good interior and nice paint?

W.O.T
09-10-2006, 09:04 PM