PDA

View Full Version : Need some Holley HELP....pleeeeeaase

Flip
09-16-2006, 05:51 PM
I'm tryin to get my motor broke in today. It's 7:00 and I'm running outta daylight. I'm no expert with Holley's. I've got a 4160 715cfm. When its running at about 2000 RPM for the cam break in you can see one of the venturis on the both the primaries and secondies are just kinda of a steady flow of gas. That aint right. Right? Ugh.... so frustrated. :mad:

IMPATIENT 1
09-16-2006, 05:56 PM
I'm tryin to get my motor broke in today. It's 7:00 and I'm running outta daylight. I'm no expert with Holley's. I've got a 4160 715cfm. When its running at about 2000 RPM for the cam break in you can see one of the venturis on the both the primaries and secondies are just kinda of a steady flow of gas. That aint right. Right? Ugh.... so frustrated. :mad:
electric pump or manual? is it flowing more than the other 3?did you let the carb dry out and maybe have a stuck float?

Flip
09-16-2006, 06:02 PM
Mechanical pump
1 of each (pri. and sec.) venturi are spewing the same amount. Opposite corners. So if you're looking in the carb from the from of the motor, the front left and back right are trickling.
The carb did dry out but I just pulled one bowl and needle and both are moving freely

IMPATIENT 1
09-16-2006, 06:03 PM
dual plane intake?

Flip
09-16-2006, 06:04 PM
single torker

IMPATIENT 1
09-16-2006, 06:07 PM
sounds like a air bleed, jet, or fuel channel is clogged with something.was the bottom of the bowl alittle chalky lookin?

Flip
09-16-2006, 06:09 PM
no. not chaulky
just curious. power valve? i dont really know the symptoms of a bad power valve but I know they blow out real easy

IMPATIENT 1
09-16-2006, 06:30 PM
no. not chaulky
just curious. power valve? i dont really know the symptoms of a bad power valve but I know they blow out real easy
did you change any gaskets on the carb lately?before the cam breaking in.