PDA

View Full Version : Too much shoe?

FILUCKY
09-20-2006, 02:58 PM
17' Earl Smith, the shoe is 3/16" below the keel line and has a open pro loader. this boat will not air out, breaks water about front of motor at best and adjusting the ride plate and nozzle angle don't realy help. I'm wondering can the shoe and loader grab too much water and force the boat down? Any ideas how to air it out?
Thanks, Dallas :)

poncho-pwr
09-20-2006, 04:10 PM
I am not an expert but I would certainly think it would be possible for the deep shoe and aggressive loader to cause that problem. Maybe somebody ran it that way with a lot of power or something and needed more water, hence the deep shoe. I sure would think that boat would be scary if it shut off at high speed with that much shoe.

Vern S
09-20-2006, 04:29 PM
17' Earl Smith, the shoe is 3/16" below the keel line and has a open pro loader. this boat will not air out, breaks water about front of motor at best and adjusting the ride plate and nozzle angle don't realy help. I'm wondering can the shoe and loader grab too much water and force the boat down? Any ideas how to air it out?
Thanks, Dallas :)
What shoe, tapered, backcut, flat? Do you know the intake pressure?
What's the top speed, and how does it act on rapid shutdown?

Unchained
09-20-2006, 04:43 PM
How much pressure do you get on an intake pressure gauge?
Adjust the shoe until you get 30 - 40 #
When my Cheyenne had the shoe too deep the back of the boat would hop even under accelleration.

UBFJ #454
09-20-2006, 07:26 PM
How much Hp are you running?

Old Guy
09-20-2006, 07:27 PM
While you're under there, you might want to check the bottom for hook.

FILUCKY
09-20-2006, 07:37 PM