PDA

View Full Version : What is this ...

superV
08-20-2002, 04:26 AM
I am looking at a 1981 20' Eliminator Day Crusier hy pro v drive with a hardin 405hp, 3 speed, and a casel, it has what i think you would call trim tabs on the rear, all billet hardware left hand driver in excellent condition, sweet 6 color gel, and competeive tailer all built in SoCal. Im new to V drives and thinking of selling my 24'challenger offshore. I would be using this boat for sm to md lake, rivers, and for sking.What would I ex. top speed to be how well are thet built, how big of water can they handel[would be running LOTO a couple times a year] How do they handel? What do i need to look for when buying? What is it worth? Any help would be great need info asap! Whould like to ditch the I/O and go true Hot Boat! Need to run atleast 70mph? Any other info please include! :confused: :confused:

superV
08-20-2002, 07:36 AM
:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

superdave013
08-20-2002, 07:52 AM
I'll give you my take on it for what ever that's worth.
It's a great boat. I don't know if it will handle as rough of water as your 24'er but it will handle rougher water then the ave 20 I/O. V-drives don't seem to get the bow rise in chop like the others do.
It will handle and track great. V-drive cruisers just drive like they are on rails.
Those plates in the back are called cavataiton plates. Some are controlled with your foot and other have elect. motors that move them. They don't move much but have a huge effect on the ride or trim of the boat.