PDA

View Full Version : Is this normal

Morg
12-09-2002, 09:11 AM
I am new to the inner working of the v-drive. The bearing race on the output shaft is stuck to the shaft. The input shaft race came right off. This is on the forward side of the v-drive.
Little help.
Morg.

Morg
12-09-2002, 02:39 PM
Little Help

Cole Man II
12-09-2002, 02:43 PM
Morgy,
Nothing with you is ever normal.
Cole Man.

126driver
12-09-2002, 02:48 PM
Hey Morg - I assume your working on the v-drive from the Revenge? I wonder if it is the same polished one I had in the boat? If so, that spacer is just stuck on. It did that every once in a while. We could just pry it off with a little care, but I bet that case hasn't been apart since I sold the boat. Well, maybe once. I had 18's in the box. You may have to throw a little heat on it. BTW, you don't need a bearing puller with a quick-change box.

Morg
12-09-2002, 02:57 PM
126driver:
Hey Morg - I assume your working on the v-drive from the Revenge? I wonder if it is the same polished one I had in the boat? If so, that spacer is just stuck on. It did that every once in a while. We could just pry it off with a little care, but I bet that case hasn't been apart since I sold the boat. Well, maybe once. I had 18's in the box. You may have to throw a little heat on it. BTW, you don't need a bearing puller with a quick-change box.That's what I was thinking. Just didn't want to start whacking away without knowing what I was doing.
BTW- Are you sure you did not have the 12's in the box. From what I was told this thing was never ran after you sold it. I wonder if some one traded these things while it was sitting :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Morg.

superdave013
12-09-2002, 03:26 PM
126driver:
BTW, you don't need a bearing puller with a quick-change box.You don't need a bearing puller for a quick change box that has tapered bearings. If it has roller bearings you need a puller or you could just pry them out with a big screwdriver.

126driver
12-09-2002, 03:38 PM