PDA

View Full Version : Wiring for HEI and single terminal Altenator

nubble94
11-21-2006, 07:14 AM
I took the only wiring diagram that I have found and redrew it to what "I think" (LOL) how an HEI distributor and a single terminal alternator should be wired in a boat. Since I am a newbie to boats, I am asking for any suggestions. Tks..Tom

Fire Water
11-21-2006, 07:36 AM
Tom. I would suggest using a relay instead of running straight from the ignition switch to your distributor. Use a min. 14 gauge (I use 10) wire from the positive lug on your starter through the relay contacts and then into the distributor. Use your violet wire to control the relay. It will need to be a continiuos duty normally open relay. HEI ignitions need good clean supply of power. You may also want to add some performance parts to your distributor or replace it with a billet style. Stock HEI systems start to drop sparks around 4500 RPM.

Jetaholic
11-21-2006, 09:03 AM
I'll second the relay on the distributor. This will minimize the amount of current that actually flows through the ignition switch itself. I'm sure a relay coil has much less current draw than the HEI coil does.

nubble94
11-21-2006, 09:35 AM
I believe that a relay would draw as much current as the coil. Coils produce voltage level and "discharge current". It just sounds like something more that can quit working at the wrong time.

Jetaholic
11-21-2006, 10:26 AM
I believe that a relay would draw as much current as the coil. Coils produce voltage level and "discharge current". It just sounds like something more that can quit working at the wrong time.