PDA

View Full Version : 1969 Stevens Hydro

thstevens
12-13-2001, 12:41 PM
I have purchased a `69 Stevens Hydro and know nothing about this boat other than the previous owner said it was a rare ride and very stable, I am just curious if the hull shape was any good or just something that was tried and scrapped.. I am new to v-drives and fell in love with this boat on first sight and hope to ride it next season.
Any information will be appreciated and Thank You for posting all the wonderful stories and pictures. I would post a picture if I knew how :-)

superdave013
12-13-2001, 01:33 PM
Welcome to the world of v-drives! Send me that pic and I'll post it for ya.
daveb@adwest.cc

DougD
12-13-2001, 06:01 PM
Congrats. I had a Stevens flatty for years. For many years Stevens' boats were very popular. All the "old timers" (sorry if I offend !) I knew said they were well known for being very ruggedly constructed and were one of the better names on the hottie-boat arena for quite some time. I think they went out of business in the early 70's but maybe someone else knows for sure. I myself would like to known more about the history of Stevens boats.
You'll love this V-drive stuff. It's almost a sub-culture----and I mean that in a good way.
I've been out of the hobby for many years but am looking to get involved again. Maybe sometime next year I'll find a good project boat.
How 'bout some details on your boat? What kind of engine, etc.
Good luck,
Doug Dwyer

thstevens
12-14-2001, 06:58 AM