PDA

View Full Version : Anyone use anchor buddy?

75MillerJet
12-27-2006, 01:29 PM
Anyone here use the anchor buddy? If so, how exactly does this work? The pictures that it shows on the website shows them anchoring with the bow towards shore. Sounds kinda stupid but I'm pretty new to anchoring in general since I always beached it during the day and put it back on the trailer overnight. Can someone give me some input on the setup I would need to anchor offshore over night? From anchor to ropes and clips. I appreciate it guys.
Pat

Squirtcha?
12-27-2006, 01:33 PM
I had one and it's a great deal for lake and river use. Mine got ripped off at Big River last summer and I'm pissed.
At the lake I would anchor using it off the bow and tie the stern to a stake on the beach. It'll take some big ass'd waves and just bounce right back after the stretch.

dumbandyoung
12-27-2006, 01:41 PM
i had 3 brand new jetski anchor bags ripped off last summer. just took them out of the package filled them with rocks and trew em in.. came back with the jetskis and they were gone damn rat bastards... those things were $25 a peice

roostwear
12-27-2006, 03:25 PM
I love them. I used to beach for years until big boats and more traffic made it impossible. I just set it upriver, connect it to the bow eye and let the current swing the stern around. After you do it a few times, you figure out what works for your boat and how to read the current. I've taken some big wakes and the stretch keeps the anchor from dragging. Shop around.... prices vary alot.

malcolm
12-27-2006, 05:19 PM
I got one last year. Took a little learning to figure out what works. It helps to have a friend that has one show you the "ropes" the first time. ;)

BRAWNY
12-27-2006, 06:36 PM
love the anchor buddy,so easy to use.
make sure to keep it clean,had one break the rubber band on the inside.
sent it back to overtons and they replaced it.they claim it got soiled with
gas. brawny

BOOGEYMAN
12-27-2006, 07:40 PM