PDA

View Full Version : Have a Taylor, but I'm a newb

Rick90lx
01-19-2007, 08:58 PM
My dad just passed his Taylor SJ to me. Its got a worn out 403 in it and has a points dizzy. I'm more than likely going to do a motor swap this summer and replace it with a 455, I heard that would be the easiest swap for me, and I have a buddy who does a lot of work with them. Anyway, I've been reading on here for the last couple of days and there's a few terms that keep coming up. One of which is a place diverter and another is an intake loader. The boat has a berkley pump with a new impeller, but I'm not sure of the specs on it and if I had to guess its a stock replacement. Like everyone else I'm wanting to make it faster, so any advice would be appreciated. In the meantime I'm going to hit the FAQ's. Thanks guys,
Rick
What kind of speeds are you guys getting out of your run of the mill motored SJ's?

QuickJet
01-19-2007, 09:09 PM
Welcome to the site.
Yes the easiest thing to do is build a 455, however in doing so you would also be hurting yourself in the long run. Sure guys have gone fast with Olds power, but it takes money and block work (especially to the oiling system).
Do yourself a favor and install the BBC. Parts are in abundance and reletively cheap.
Not only that but the resale value will be more with the BBC.

watergun4u
01-19-2007, 09:15 PM