PDA

View Full Version : Covers, fenders, etc

carbiz2
01-21-2007, 12:36 PM
I am a newbie in the Big HP, Jet Drive, insanely FAST boating world.
18' Placecraft BBC/Berkley
Gottalota questions...:confused: :) :idea: ;)
BOAT COVER:
Since I will pull my boat behind a RV(Bluebird motorhome) it would be good to protect it thoroughly from the elements while on the road. Can anyone suggest where to get a travel cover that will not screw up the finish, but protect from the elements, maybe fit like a glove? Whats the best material? Whats the best fit(wrap material to the axles, wrap 23 times with clothes line...)
FENDERS AND DOCKING:
The boats I have had previously have been cruisers and houseboats. The fenders for these were the same size as garbage cans;) ...and there were cleats everywhere. What is the correct type and size fender to use w/ these lighter/smaller/non-cleat bearing go-fast boats?
FUEL CONSUMPTION:
Trying to get an idea about fuel consumption on this type boat. They don't carry a lot of fuel, the cruisers would burn 15-18 gallons per hour at cruise speed(35mph), the houseboat 20GPH. What GPH can I expect under semi-aggressive driving habits? (really don't care, just would rather not run out)
EXHAUST NOTE:
This SOB sounds GREAT!
The Bassets have baffles, never heard it without the baffles. I'm in IL, anybody have any experience in IL with the exhaust note being undesirable to some?
ENGINE TUNING:
How do you run your engine while at home? Heat it up for an oil change etc? The packing would need some water running in there, wouldn't it? What is the method of running the engine while at home? Seems to me that timing, dwell, carb jetting, etc would be easier on land.
EVENTS:
Not much in the midwest that I've been able to find. Anybody?
Thanks in adavnce, really appreciate any and all info !

Ken F
01-21-2007, 01:42 PM
Well, youre hooked.