PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of getting new intake

boats&bars
02-03-2007, 06:37 PM
ok guys help me out here i have a 77 hawaiian daycruiser with a hardin 454 w oval port/ berkley jet AA impeller the motor is stock with a 750 holley I am hoping that you guys have some input on what intake manifold to use, the boat is extremley heavy my top speed might be 40 what do you guys on the boards think i should use??????

jbone
02-03-2007, 07:32 PM
On the intake manifold, I am running the Edelbrock RPM Air Gap, and many like this intake in lake boats.
The rpm might be a little low for that one though.
Wouldn't you do better with a smaller impellor? That 4,000 rpm seems a little low.
I have a heavy boat (3500lb+) and I run a A/T "A" impellor.
By the way, I'm no expert!
J

ghittner
02-03-2007, 09:05 PM
Unless you have an exposed engine with forced air getting to the intake, like a car gets, or a boat with no hatch cover, l an air gap will not help you with intake charge cooling. A performer RPM is a good choice.

boats&bars
02-03-2007, 11:36 PM
On the intake manifold, I am running the Edelbrock RPM Air Gap, and many like this intake in lake boats.
The rpm might be a little low for that one though.
Wouldn't you do better with a smaller impellor? That 4,000 rpm seems a little low.
I have a heavy boat (3500lb+) and I run a A/T "A" impellor.
By the way, I'm no expert!
JI dont think an A impeler will get me out of the hole

SmokinLowriderSS
02-04-2007, 01:14 AM
I dont think an A impeler will get me out of the hole
You'd be surprised.
IMO, you are over-impellered.
As a guess, yours is a 330HP 454 (so was my 1978 Indmar), which made about 280+ on a good day (iron dual-plane manifold, very small cam ("GM Hi-Perf Hydraulic", yea, riiiiight), log manifold exhausts.
Hi-tech has dyno'd many a motor like mine (stocker) in years past, and told me they rarely made 290HP in real life.