PDA

View Full Version : whirlaways???

Sanger d
07-05-2002, 08:20 PM
Hey guys i am still new to v drives. what exactly is a whirlaway? I dont have one on my 18 ft sanger, i was told to get one. what can u tell me about them. what do they look like, cost, how hard to install. thanks for the help.

jordanpaulk
07-05-2002, 08:56 PM
Hey, Sanger D,
I understand that you are new to the boards and welcome, but you have to understand that most of the V-drive guys take their prescribed medication and are in bed before 7:00 in any give time zone. Make sure to adjust your posts accordingly as the V-drive retirement home hates to keep these guys up. Just some food for thought. Sweet dreams guys.
Jordy.
p.s. Y'all know I am just toying with you as I dig the whole v-drive movement and can't pass up and opportunity to jerk you guys chain. LOL.
[This message has been edited by jordanpaulk (edited July 06, 2002).]

superdave013
07-05-2002, 09:04 PM
It's a prop release. It lets the prop free spin if you loose power or lock up an engine during a hard pass. With out it you could flip your boat if that were to happen.
You will be much happier whit it when you just lift after a pass too. I had a boat with out one for a short time and when I'ed lift it would try to toss my passanger up on the deck. Much better when the whirlaway was installed.
Here is a pic of the parts from V-Drive Tom's web site. I would talk to him about parts and installation. His link is at the top of the page.
http://www.menkensvdrives.com/gfx_files/shaftreleasekit_sm.jpg

superdave013
07-05-2002, 09:07 PM
Originally posted by jordanpaulk:
Hey, Sanger D,
I understand that you are new to the boards and welcome, but you have to understand that most of the V-drive guys take their prescribed medication and are in bed before 7:00 at/or before in any give time zone. Make sure to adjust your posts accordingly as the V-drive retirement home hates to keep these guys up. Just some food for thought. Sweet dreams guys.
Jordy.