PDA

View Full Version : Which Cam??

Hotfish
03-24-2007, 06:47 AM
I'm building a 514 and I'm not sure what cam to go with. I'll be running the Street/Strip 460 heads from Trick Flow, tunnel ram with 600s Hollys, and nitrous. I was thinking of comp cams XM298H. It has .585 .588 lift with 112 lobe seperation and Duration of 254 264 @50. I have an A impeller in the boat. Any info would be appreciated.

thatguy
03-24-2007, 06:54 AM
Sounds a little long for that impeller. Maybe the nitrous will push it over, but I would think a little less active Duration would be better.
Then again, Its for the wrong motor. By a Chevy cam, then build around it!
Sorry, I couldn't help it.:D :D :D
Tommy

Ralph Brunt
03-24-2007, 07:14 AM
hot fish i'm no expert but my build is basically the same 502 with tfs street heads flat top pistons, single 1150 and solid roller i havent buried the throttle yet. it turns berk a cut 5200 and 82 mph at about 3/4 throttle. cam specs are
intake .651 and 237.7 on a 108.9
exhaust .657 and 243.8 on a 114.3
at 50 hope this helps

Hotfish
03-24-2007, 07:54 AM
Thanks for the info. I compression will only be 9.5 or so. Not sold on anything for sure yet.

SmokinLowriderSS
03-24-2007, 08:42 AM
Pull back on the duration to something arround 240 degrees, unless you really want a peak powerband in the 6,500 RPM range. Otherwise, I like the looks of it.

Bajajet
03-24-2007, 10:14 AM
I run the XM288H in my Ford (502). Have been happy with it so far. Similar comp to yours also. Haven't tried anything different so I have no more comments! :)

LakesOnly
03-24-2007, 10:37 AM