PDA

View Full Version : need answers

460 jus getn it
11-03-2002, 09:24 PM
im need to know what type of pistons to run in a 460 ford with 92cc heads. any replies will be great......

11-04-2002, 09:26 AM
Need more info....What do you want and expect from the boat/engine? Give us something to work with.

460 jus getn it
11-04-2002, 09:51 PM
058 im looking to get 9.5 to 1 comp. i have just the block, heads, and crank right know everything elese to follow. i want to be able to spin 5100 and have a boat that i can count on day in and day out. any suggestions will definately help me im fairly new to the boat building business. thanks 460

460 jus getn it
11-04-2002, 10:03 PM
058 didnt mention that im over from just jets. this motor is going in a jet boat. i looked for answers there didnt get any replies. hope you guys can help me out. And you circle boat guys are the s---........ THANKS 460

11-04-2002, 10:31 PM
If you are going to run the 92cc heads then you will need a flat top piston to make app. 9.5 to 1 This can be acheved by getting a set of TRW-L 2443F domed pistons and having the domes removed or having a set of pistons made by JE, JE/SRP or Venolia. Check with them for the latest inventory, they have been adding new pistons to their catalog. If you have the open chamber heads [no quench area] I'd advise getting another set of heads, preferrablly the D0VE-C heads [75cc chambers] and use the TRW-L2404F piston with a small dish. Depending on deck height this will give you somewhere between 9.5 and 10 to 1 C/R. The open chamber heads are more prone to detonation and you will need to run better gas and less timing as compared to the quench heads with the same C/R. I don't advise using a cast or hypereutectic piston as they are not as strong as a forged piston.

460 jus getn it
11-05-2002, 09:55 PM