PDA

View Full Version : Nordic plate adjustment?

2Sangers
04-18-2007, 04:00 AM
Can someone give me a starting point for adjusting the cavitation plates on a 1970 Nordic flatbottom? Where should the handle be when making these adjustments? Should it be flat side to side or angled?
The boat ran 73.5 yesterday with a 355 aluminum headed chevy. It doesn't seem to really free up. I know this is a heavy hull.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

BA Kurtis
04-18-2007, 05:37 AM
I am not an expert but I will tell you what has worked for me, the handle needs to be in the forward position (plate free and no load on the turn buckels), the plates should follow the shape of the bottom (flat,slight v), set plate with the bottom useing a straight edge thats were I would start and if the boat is still running wet and heavy turn each turn buckle half turn up making sure plates stay straight from side to side. This is a starting piont for you hope it works out. You mentioned a handle, do you have a down pedel? If not you should get one.

LeE ss13
04-18-2007, 06:58 AM