PDA

View Full Version : circle boat question?

stump
03-14-2003, 04:34 PM
Ok i'm new to this and i'm trying to figgure out something.
Let's take the biesemeyer 18' for instance since it seems to be the boat of choice for circle racing.I see these hulls in the S/S class and in the K class ,are these hulls the same?just with differant engine combinations?
And what kind of boats hulls are used for the G/N class? are they longer,they look like they have a kind of v shape to the bottom on them.

Morg
03-14-2003, 05:04 PM
Stump,
Essentialy the hulls are the same in SS, PS & K. The motor type & motor, V-drive & strut location will differ in the classes. The weight of the hull will also differ. The k's being the heaviest layup. I have also heard the rocker can change for the different classes, Don't know about that one. argue
Pretty much that's the opinion from someone who's never driven one. So take what you will from the above. :D :D
Morg.

126driver
03-14-2003, 05:19 PM
True. Steele laid up the K's and Superstocks from the same mold, but the layup shedule was different. GN's are a whole different animal.

FlatRacer
03-14-2003, 06:19 PM
Rockers vary from class to class because the more horsepower you have, the more it wants to drive the nose down and lift he tail. More rocker and a longer trim plate creates more negative pressure under the rear of the boat, thereby "sucking" the transom back down to the water. Remember when K-boats used to run wings like the 1/4 mi. boats? That was an attempt to plant the tail back down in the water. Because the speeds were so high in KRR, the boats began to ride on the strut barrel, or "prop ride" like a hydro. Problem with that is, you haven't got two sponsons out front to provide a stable stance. They would run on the "breast" of the bow. Not fun. They experimented with wings in the 80s, but abandoned them in favor of more rocker and longer plates.
That's my theory and I'm stickin' to it.
FR :p