PDA

View Full Version : best performance part

coopers396
05-23-2007, 11:38 PM
hey guys..i got a bbc 396 w/ a 750 holley & mallory ignition and i was wondering what would be the best bolt on performance for under a G..I wanted to run a dual carb set up but i dont know what i should do..how much would a dual carb set up cost me?ur opinions are greatly appreciated
thanks guys
erick
ps if anyone has any used performance parts for a bbc396 let me know;)

RCB19
05-23-2007, 11:54 PM
Spend your money on the pump first. If that's not set up properly you will be wasting your time with motor upgrades.

coopers396
05-24-2007, 12:04 AM
i have a jacuzzi wj pump i belive..im not sure what impeller i have in it but what exactly should i do to the pump..im kinda new to the whole jet thing and im trying to learn as much about how it works and whats going on as i can ya kno?thanks
erick

QuickJet
05-24-2007, 12:09 AM
hey guys..i got a bbc 396 w/ a 750 holley & mallory ignition and i was wondering what would be the best bolt on performance for under a G..I wanted to run a dual carb set up but i dont know what i should do..how much would a dual carb set up cost me?ur opinions are greatly appreciated
thanks guys
erick
A prop! After it was all said and done I picked up 18 mph without even opening up the engine. ;)
Other than that I'd find a 454 short block for your combo then sell the 396 and get some heads.

coopers396
05-24-2007, 12:11 AM
A prop! After it was all said and done I picked up 18 mph without even opening up the engine. ;)
Other than that I'd find a 454 short block for your combo then sell the 396 and get some heads.
really?18 mph?damn thats crazy haha..are they hard to put in or take out shall i say?pricey at all?does it affect ur bottom end at all?

lilrick
05-24-2007, 02:44 AM
I would stay away from the dual carbs. They won't help you go any faster. If the jet pump is in good shape, then save your coin for some cubic inches!!!!

lilrick
05-24-2007, 02:45 AM