PDA

View Full Version : How much HP do you think this engine makes?

78Centurion
05-24-2007, 04:15 PM
I am new to all this and trying to figure out what this motor can do.
To determine what pump Impeller is best for a new rebuilt JG Berkeley I am going to install. With a Place diverter. Into my 1978 Centurion 18Ft Bubble with light Hull.
I think it has an A in the JC Berkeley now??
It pulls approx 5200 RPM with the old JC doing about 69MPH with good hole shot (Cavitation is bad if you jump on it from a stand still)
Engine made by Rex Hutchison in Sacramento
454 Block Blueprinted
Bored 70 over
Compression is 9.8 To 1
Isky Cam Z-55 RPM Range 3,500 – 7,500
(Solid Cam lift .338, Valve lift .590, Dur 254 (.050), Lobe center 108 & Lash .028)
Crank Stroke 4.00
Valves: Intake 2.190 Exhaust 1.880
Tunnel Ram with Two Vac Sec 1850Â’s 600 CFM each
Mallory Electronic Distributor

Blown 472
05-24-2007, 04:20 PM
Whos dyno?

67weimann
05-24-2007, 04:47 PM
148bhp...:D

inwo
05-24-2007, 05:03 PM
148bhp...:D
Exactly :) No need to guess. ;)
.................................................. ............................
Really it's 440 @ 5200rpm.

suckin&pumpin
05-24-2007, 06:54 PM
To determine what pump Impeller is best for a new rebuilt JG Berkeley I am going to install. With a Place diverter. Into my 1978 Centurion 18Ft Bubble with light Hull.
It pulls approx 5200 RPM with the old JC doing about 69MPH with good hole shot (Cavitation is bad if you jump on it from a stand still)
454 Block Blueprinted
Bored 70 over
Compression is 9.8 To 1
(Solid Cam lift .338, Valve lift .590, Dur 254 (.050), Lobe center 108 & Lash .028)
Crank Stroke 4.00
i have a 77 18' centurion bubble and I added a cavitation plate and I have to tell you WOW what a diff the nose barely rises:D

396_WAYS_TO_SPIT
05-24-2007, 07:20 PM
454 Block Blueprinted
Bored 70 over
Compression is 9.8 To 1
Crank Stroke 4.00