PDA

View Full Version : Reverse in a v-drive?

Revmasta
07-24-2003, 11:51 PM
Purchased a 1967 JE Byers boat. It has no reverse. Wondering if that is the fact for all v-drives or flatbottoms. And if it is difficult to control like that. Have not taken the boat out once yet.
Thanks.

infotraker
07-25-2003, 04:20 AM
Have fun with your boat ! Most vdrives below 21 ft do not have reverse. We paddle around a lot ! Just aim for where you want to go and all is ok. I've been in a 18 1/2 ft. Schiada flat since 1968 with no reverse and still love it althought I've been driving a 77 Sanger Pickle hydro for 2 years. You can install a velvet drive gear box and that will get you reverse but it might be expensive.

flattie
07-25-2003, 04:59 AM
If you reverse a Flat. Odds are you wil sink it

GofastRacer
07-25-2003, 06:19 AM
Flatbottoms=no reverse!.. :rolleyes:

V-Drive Tom
07-25-2003, 08:35 AM
EYEEEE BUCKO,
Get used to it,or go back to a BOW RIDER! :D
Your High Performance V-driven now!
TOM..

07-25-2003, 08:54 AM
I love watching v-drives with reverses...After I get done laughing my ass off I help them recover their boats. :D :D :D

Kurtis500
07-25-2003, 10:15 AM
With my limited experience in my daycruiser, when you have reverse in a v-drive it doesnt steer worth a crap either. But its still reverese :D

roostwear
07-25-2003, 11:04 AM
V-Drive Tom:
EYEEEE BUCKO,
Get used to it,or go back to a BOW RIDER! :D
Your High Performance V-driven now!
TOM.. Damn! Tough crowd in here!

Itsahobby
07-25-2003, 11:23 AM
Same here. Best thing it is for is stoping when
around the dock. Kinda like a brake by rubberband. smile_sp
Kurtis500:
With my limited experience in my daycruiser, when you have reverse in a v-drive it doesnt steer worth a crap either. But its still reverese :D

DansBlown73Nordic
07-25-2003, 12:50 PM
When I bought my Schiada I thought great I now have reverse.... eek! Well guess what its not worth even thinking about adding to a Flatty!!!