PDA

View Full Version : blower question

Camaro crazy
06-13-2007, 06:21 AM
hello everyone..im a newbie..here great site!..im here in Cali. i have a boat but its used for fishing..:) ....i have a question on my blower though, its in my Camaro.. if anyone can give me some pointers..that would be great, im running a sm 350 low comp. with a 6-71 blower and two 600 Holley double pumpers, the jets are at 73 all the way around, that it came with the problem im having is i was running 2 1/2" exh. and the Car ran perfect..well i changed to 3" with a H pipe and now at high RPM's it stumbles..i thought if i go a little bit bigger on the primaries about 3 sizes up it would help, well the car dosnt stumble as much but it feels like i lost a lot of power..so should i put the 73's back on primaries and only mess with secondaries? and how much should i go up? thanks for any input on this, i also had changed plugs,wires,fuel filters,air cleaners, timings good, to rule out anything else.

TIMINATOR
06-13-2007, 07:24 AM
Air bleeds are too large. Go back to the jets you had and drop the airbleed size by .003 to start. See what it does. You may have to go smaller yet. Jets affect the entire range of rpm from as soon as the fuel flows from the boosters. The air bleeds made smaller will start the main circuit slightly sooner, but will progressively richen the mixture as the rpm and airflow increases. This is but 1 difference of blower carbs, the most important being boost referenced power valves. They will prevent leanout as you "pedal it" to get traction. The lack of this deal is the #1 reason we see bearing issues on a blown deal. ***boat the magazine had an article on the conversion last year. TIMINATOR

Camaro crazy
06-13-2007, 07:51 AM