PDA

View Full Version : How important is torque??

BlueNun
06-20-2007, 07:03 PM
How important is torque in a jet?? I see alot of tunnell rams which I know are upper RPM pullers. I am looking at intakes and the Edelbrock AirGap looks descent for a dual plane and it pulls from 1500-5500 I think. Or should I look at the taller single plane manifolds like brodix,merlin, etc??

pw_Tony
06-20-2007, 07:11 PM
I thought the RPM air gap went up to bout 6300 rpm or so?

Sleeper CP
06-20-2007, 08:04 PM
Need alittle more info on the engine. How high do you want to turn the engine and what is it? What impeller are you running and what do you what to spin it too?
I've had some experience with the small block air gaps for Ford and Chevy the are increadable. On my Engine Master's Sm Blk Ford the Victor Jr. made 30 more HP at 6,500 but the air gap made 50 more lbs. ft at 4,500. The over -all score with the air gap was better. But if I were running a drag car I would run the Victor Jr. it out ran the air gap above 5,500. So depending on your combo and what you plan on doing with it the air-gap might be fine.
I had always thought Tunnel rams on Bblocks turning under 6500 was a waste, but I was proven wrong by my good friend Danny Crower. The dyno at his Dad's ranch was the proof. I saw a couple of BBlock Chevy's make more trq above 4500 with a tunnel ram and a bunch more HP up stairs above 6000. It all depends on the Cam and Heads.
Sleeper CP

hotbo
06-20-2007, 08:06 PM
now this is a good question:confused: