PDA

View Full Version : Marine schools and employment

Running_on_Empty
06-23-2007, 01:45 PM
Due to my growing love for these boats. I am considering going to school to be a marine tech. I was just wondering if anybody had or knows someone who has had experience doing this. I've herd wyotech is a good place to go, but I've never met anyone who has gone there. Does anybody know what type of hourly rate these guys get? Any help of feedback would be great. Thanks. ROE

sangerflatty
06-23-2007, 09:06 PM
I am a MMI grad out of orlando,In my honest opion it is a waste of money,I was fortunate enough to get a job as a shop assistant in my 3rd week of school, You learn 10 times more hands on in a shop with guys that have been doing this for awhile, once in the shop they will send you to a update class on there dime not yours, even when you do graduate with that degree, that means nothing to the company,they want experience and wont start you out very high on the pay scale till you prove yourself, so in other words dont go and try to get a job in a shop to start learning.;)

Running_on_Empty
06-23-2007, 09:15 PM
Do they teach you much at all? I don't have a whole lot of knowledge, and I'm from Indiana so shops are far and few between. Do they not have very good job placement there? Where are you from? How much did school cost you? Where did you live while in school and how much was that? Nice sanger.

sangerflatty
06-23-2007, 09:22 PM
they yeach you the basics,they do have job placement for life as well as they put you in a 2 bedroom apt with 4 students, some go to the motorcycle program and some go to marine program,but they do mix you up all over orlando in many different locations, when i went about 7 years ago it was 12,000, but i think it has gone up, that is with the pwc class and merctech class 12mos long all together,sanger is still coming together but thank you

Running_on_Empty
06-23-2007, 09:25 PM