PDA

View Full Version : New To Jets

lamsv
06-26-2007, 12:06 PM
I'm a long time outboard boat owner. Have been boatless for some time now, but looking to come back to the joys of being on the water all day! I am currently looking at getting a jet boat. Really open to most hull designs, makes, etc. Hard part is finding a nice boat local to me (Montana). I have found a couple, but need some help with a few items on the boat.
For instance, what is the purpose of these parts of a jet:
Drop snoot, ride plate, and place convertor?
Also, how should a proper impeller be choosen for a given boat (say, in my case, a 83 Spectra 18.5' Tunnel hull, with 550hp 468 BBC)?
Anything else I should look for as a first time jet boat owner?
Thanks for any help!
-Seth

red Dawg
06-26-2007, 12:33 PM
I'm new to the jet scene as well and these guys have helped me out alot! So I'm sure they will do the same for you!

Xlration Marine
06-26-2007, 02:38 PM
Sorry bubba. It's a "place deverter". It does the same as your trim button on an OB. Lets you hang the nose up, oh and gives a rooster. The two other items are go fast goodies. All three together will give you more speed.

BUSBY
06-26-2007, 02:57 PM
Welcome Seth,
I'm sorry to say you are catching a bad desease ...
To answer 3 of your questions,
1) Droop Snoot: Is a bout a 6" drop snoot (or discharge tube) that bolts onto the bolw to lower the nozzel into the water to lower the thrust line of the jet.
2) Ride Plate: is a plate that is approx 17" long that would bolt to the intake on the bottom of the boat and attach to the bowl. By changing the angle of the plate will change the attitude of the boat.
3) Place Diverter: An adjustable nozzel as Xlration said that will either raise or lower your thrust line (like your trim) and create a roost as well.