PDA

View Full Version : Jet boat terminology.....help a new guy eh???

Josh-TSG
07-12-2007, 09:00 AM
Hey guys, is there a list of definitions of terms for some parts used for jets???
I'm new to jets and am looking at buying my first boat.....considering even a project, as I prefer to build my own stuff.
I'm learning quite a bit by searching here, but a few terms keep coming up, and I don't know what's being talked about....hahaha!:confused: :D
Terms like: droop snout, Aggressor, Place diverter, etc....
I've found a few hulls locally and may just buy a hull and start piecing together a nice jetboat as a winter project....plus I have a few BBC laying around.....:)
Any help with the various terms assocciated with jets and the mods done to them would be GREATLY appreciated!
Help a newb go to the DARK side of jets....he he:D

BUSBY
07-12-2007, 09:30 AM
Welcome ...
Droop Snoot: a nozzel that bolts to the discharge side of the jet pump that lowers the thrust line into the water about 4-6" ... depending on the mfg of the droop ...
Aggressor: a pump mfg co. that makes pumps, parts, impellers, etc.
Place Diverter: an adjustable pump nozzel that allows the driver to change the angle at which the water comes out of the pump ... good for helping the way a boat handles and for making rooster tails ...
good luck with your new adventure,
Brian

Josh-TSG
07-12-2007, 09:45 AM
Thanks Busby...
More terms.....Ride plate??? Wedge??? Any others I'm missing??
I'm sure this is common knowledge for most of you guys.....but I really want to learn what I'll be looking for when scrounging up parts...:D
Also on a related topic.
There seems to be a BIG selection of hulls in the 18'-22' range.....I like the late 60's- early 80's style boats....IE...Tahitis, Hawaiians, Hallets, Sangers, ETC...
Are there any hull manufacturers that I should DEFINITELY steer away from?????

El Prosecutor
07-12-2007, 10:33 AM
All you need to know is right here: