PDA

View Full Version : Car Allowances

GBLASER
02-17-2006, 02:55 PM
Our company is looking into changing the policy. Right now they provide a vehicle and a gas card. Now they want to give an allowance and pay for miles used for business. I was just wandering what is the norm, if there is one.
The most recent rumors are somewhere in the neighborhood of $300.00 a month plus .11 to .14 cents a mile. This sounds pretty low. We are a company that manufactures and installs cabinets for commercial projects, mainly schools, and our project managers visit the sites throughout the week and put a good deal of miles on a vehicle monthly. Our projects are from San Diego to Santa Barbara.
I know someone out there has the answer. Thanks

Norseman
02-17-2006, 03:03 PM
I'm a sales engineer in the NY metro area, selling electronic componenets and electro control products. terminal blocks, switches, contactors, indicator lights Ect. Our lines are ABB Controls, ABB Motors and Drives, Panasonic, ITT Canon, and a bunch of others.
We get a $500.00 per month car allowance and the company picks up the fuel used for work travel. I average about 4,000 miles a month. Tears up cars pretty quick.

Mrs. Bordsmnj
02-17-2006, 03:07 PM
Our company has a couple different options for employees. Either $325/very two weeks, no extra reimbursement for mileage or straight mileage at .415/mile or a lump sum based on actual mileage plus .25/mile.

burtandnancy
02-17-2006, 03:13 PM
The cost per mile figure can only be correctly determined after the monthly allowance is offered. There are so many ways that this is done by various companies, that you will soon be totally confused...

lucky
02-17-2006, 03:34 PM