PDA

View Full Version : Centex Lays Off 140 people in Riverside area

socalmoney
08-03-2007, 12:32 PM
Anyone here work for Centex and can shed some light? What offices are closing? This ball is picking up more momentum.

Glamasu
08-03-2007, 12:54 PM
Anyone here work for Centex and can shed some light? What offices are closing? This ball is picking up more momentum.
Been comming for a while...No suprise
Shea,Pulte, most all the builders have done the same since the first of the year.
I work in the new home industry and alot of good people were left holding there A$$ when the market slowed....
Myself am lucky I missed the cut.....

TOBTEK
08-03-2007, 02:06 PM
not going to get any better with the underwritting changes coming SOON. If you NEED to refi, do it now! The bond is going down, and rates keep going UP. Lenders are having to "warehouse" the loans they are writting. The secondary mortgage market/wall street aren't buying new loans as in the past. MIGHT get really ugly quick......

Brewzed
08-03-2007, 02:08 PM
My wife used to work there, she quit a year and half ago. Our neighbor worked there, she was laid off Thursday. I also know a couple other people that were laid off as well. The Inland Empire division and South Coast (OC) have basically merged. The President of the IE division was let go a couple of weeks ago. This is the second round so far. The let around 40 people go a couple months ago too. I have heard that they have around 250 houses in inventory, which a couple of years ago you would have had 250 people on a list for a neighborhood.
Also my neighbor that was just laid off bought a Centex home in Menifee in the first phase as an investment for over $400K about 3 months ago. Same houses are closing in the $290's now.

AZJD
08-03-2007, 02:54 PM