PDA

View Full Version : Brucato vs MADEFI

Toffen
01-03-2003, 08:19 AM
Hi!
First of all - thanks for the respons regarding the SVS Brucato & High Flow Intake Plate for my Promax 300 1999/2002 model.
I have two scenarios which both seem to be very good:
@ SVS Intake + High Flow Reed Plate + Tuner + modified ECU at Rapair Inc = 30 HP gain / approx. 300-400 rpms gain.
@ New MadEfi 3.0 intake + special reeds + tuner = 50 hp gain / approx. 600 rpms gain.
My main concern is longvity, and I want to keep my new powerhead as stock as possible.
So - the big question - which should I choose??
Please help!
Cheers, Toffen-Lillesand

Skaterfast
01-03-2003, 08:58 AM
Mercury uses the SVS on the 300hp Drag Motor.If you want longevity I would go SVS.I have no experience with Mad EFI,but Speed Alley Racer on these boards has spent some time on this system.

DamageInc
01-03-2003, 12:07 PM
Just an opinion, but if you are going to have to modify the ECU with the Brucato system to get 30hp vs. no ECU mods with the MAD system and 50hp, it would seem like a no brainer. It would seem to me that if the ECU mod you are talking about is removing the rev limiter (which I understand is all Rapair can do to the 300 ECU) then you would be sacrificing some longevity. The higher you rev a motor the shorter its life! eek!

SpeedAlleyRacer
01-03-2003, 09:41 PM
Skaterfast:
Mercury uses the SVS on the 300hp Drag Motor.If you want longevity I would go SVS.I have no experience with Mad EFI,but Speed Alley Racer on these boards has spent some time on this system. Toffen,
Either way you go, setting up the fuel curve is a #%$@&*.

Toffen
01-04-2003, 02:21 AM
Hi!
If I am to buy a complete package from MADEFI incl. their new intake, special reeds and tuner, is it necessarry to touch the ECU/ECM? Or is it just to put it on and drive.
I know that Brucato is easy to install, how about MADEFI?