PDA

View Full Version : Confused

hotrod56cars
08-08-2007, 12:12 AM
OK, I'm fairly new to the boating scene as far as being in the driver's seat. :D I've read a lot.
I have successfully put together a Miller in 23 days and drove the hell out of it in a few weeks before I sold it.
Since selling the Miller I got to drive a friend's Aquacraft flattie v-drive and thought it was a freakin' blast.
But I've been sitting on a 1975 Rogers 18' Bonneville for my "keeper". I've been debating for the last couple of days on selling it to get a v-drive.
Last night, err tonight, whatever... I bought a 1978 Pioneer 19' tunnel jet on a smokin' deal.
Basically I don't know what I want due to my lack of "in driver's seat" experience.
No matter what boat I use as the "keeper" it's going to be a lake and lower river boat. I just need it to seat myself and my G/F but if 2 more want to come I want them to have a seat as well. So it's got to be a 4 seater, rear seats being cramped is fine with me. The "keeper" boat will never be used to ski or tow (people).
I've got 20 tanks of gas experience in the Miller v bottom jet drive, it had twin saddle tanks. I drove the flattie v-drive for about 5 minutes. I've never been in a tunnel hull of any kind. I have no idea how a tunnel reacts to turning, wakes, etc...
My funds are limited and I can't have all three or even two of the three.
The eninge is pre-determined, at the shop right now, and near completion. It's a 427 Chevy, 11:1 compression, .030 over-bore, gear drive, 4 bolt mains, forged crank and forged dome pistons, small combustion chamber big valve oval port heads, Schneider 300 dur. 500 lift cam (gross not at .050), 800 Holley DP w/mech. secondaries, either an old school Edelbrock C427X intake or the Victor Jr (I have both).
Any input is appreciated. Thanks! :D

victorfb
08-08-2007, 12:53 AM