PDA

View Full Version : voltmeter wiring question

BrendellaJet
08-09-2007, 01:30 PM
I have my voltmeter wired to the "on" terminal on my ignition. The gauge registers 12 volts and does not change as RPM's increase. Should I be wired to the "batt"terminal instead?

Big Inch
08-09-2007, 01:46 PM
I would think that your on terminal would give a constant 12 volt reading unless volts dropped under that. What type of boat? If there is a relay feeding the ignition switch it won't be accurate is my guess but I'm no expert.

BrendellaJet
08-09-2007, 02:01 PM
I would think that your on terminal would give a constant 12 volt reading unless volts dropped under that. What type of boat? If there is a relay feeding the ignition switch it won't be accurate is my guess but I'm no expert.
Thats exactly whats happening. No relays. This is actually 2 different boats I wired with the same result.
Boat one(jetboat): 3 wire delco alternator. did the one wire jumper to convert it to a poor mans 1 wire. Charging wire goes to the battery cable on the starter. Volt meter wired to the "on" terminal on the starter.
Boat 2. (v-drive): Real 1 wire delco, charge wire to the batt terminal on the starter. Volt meter wired to the "on" terminal on the starter.
Both boats register 12 volts when key is on. Seems like if I swap to the Batt terminal I will get a reading of the charging voltage which should increase with rpms...

Big Inch
08-09-2007, 02:16 PM
I'd comment but I'm probably wrong and I don't want to steer you in the wrong direction or add confusion. I'm sure someone more edumacated will chime in soon.

BrendellaJet
08-09-2007, 02:27 PM
go ahead and reply, boards are slow.

SmokinLowriderSS
08-09-2007, 02:47 PM
Unless you want the voltmeter to read CONSTANTLY (and be a small drain on the battery) it belongs on the "run" side of the ignition switch, in some manner (ie, spliced into any other circuit on the "run" circuit, or directly to the terminal, makes no difference).