PDA

View Full Version : Are you CPR certifed, what kind of First Aid do you carry on your boat?

socalmoney
08-13-2007, 12:37 PM
Given that many threads on this board lately are about accidents, injuries, close calls, and death, how many of you are prepared if it happens in front of you. What kind of first aid kits are you carrying on board and do you think it is adequate? Do you know CPR and do you have any kind of CPR mask on board in case you are called to duty. I worked as an EMT for a few years while in collage and I never had a save. I also never relieved an average Joe citizen from the initial CPR that was started before we arrived on scene. There was always lots of people standing around to tell us who needed help though. We won't all be able to rely on off duty Cops and Firemen if the need arises.

HocusPocus
08-13-2007, 12:43 PM
my wife is a certified lifeguard and we just have a very basic first aid kit on the boat. i have had CPR classes that were put on by our local fire dept but that was 4 years ago.
2 of my nieces are also certified lifeguards and work up in wrightwood.. normally one or both go with us on our river trips.

Hustler
08-13-2007, 12:44 PM
We carry a pretty good first aid kit and being a cetified rescue diver I do know CPR I just hope I never have to use any of that training.

Make it a Double
08-13-2007, 12:45 PM
This is what I carry.
http://www.***boat.com/image_center/data/500/Zee.jpg

XFactor
08-13-2007, 12:47 PM
Yes and none. Just recieved CPR certification for infant through adult but carry no first aid equipment on board. Maybe a cheap first aid kit would be a good idea. :idea:

Jyruiz
08-13-2007, 12:49 PM
We carry two kits, (different ones) on our boat, my wife has to get certified every so often cause she is a teacher and I use to be certified, but still know CPR.

2Driver
08-13-2007, 12:50 PM
Yes I am certified in first aid and CPR but its been a while.