PDA

View Full Version : Question for Golf Pros

Racer277
08-22-2007, 09:51 AM
I need a new set of Irons.
I'm a hack, but I have to play 4-5 times per year, just enough to play lousy every time.
I'm looking at:
Taylor Made RAC Irons
Nike Pro Combo Forged or Slingshot Irons
Any pros/cons to these two sets of irons?
Thanks for suggestions, if you are not an expert, maybe you have more experience than I do.

SoCalHD
08-22-2007, 09:55 AM
I'm no expert either, but I think the taylor made RAC irons are more of a blade design, so they would be harder to hit consistently. I have heard mixed reviews on the Nike slingshot's as well. Try looking at www.golfclubdemo.com They let you pay a small fee to try out different irons.....I was thinking about trying some new Nikes myself, but have just decided to actually try "practicing" with the Lynx irons I have........lol

Racer277
08-22-2007, 10:02 AM
but have just decided to actually try "practicing" with the Lynx irons I have........lol
Practice? I didn't say I liked playing, but it is better than a day in the office.:D
Thanks for the info, consistency is what kills me.

SoCalHD
08-22-2007, 10:04 AM
I'll be driving past Bako on Friday.......need any help digging up sod samples??:D

JB in so cal
08-22-2007, 10:07 AM
PM ShockwaveBob. He might be able to find something for you.

HM
08-22-2007, 10:11 AM
I'm no expert either, but I think the taylor made RAC irons are more of a blade design, so they would be harder to hit consistently. I have heard mixed reviews on the Nike slingshot's as well. Try looking at www.golfclubdemo.com They let you pay a small fee to try out different irons.....I was thinking about trying some new Nikes myself, but have just decided to actually try "practicing" with the Lynx irons I have........lol
Go try some clubs like SoCalHD says.