PDA

View Full Version : What is this?

01-30-2001, 12:49 PM
Hello
I am new to boating and as such could really use your advice. I recently bought a mini-boat and would like to know your thoughts on the boat and its potential, as far as maximum speed and what I would have to do to obtain this. The pink lists this boat as an 86 Fireline, V1 type pleasure boat, vsl type is 82, hull type is X, prop is O.
I am not yet familiar with the proper terms as far as boat terms, so bear with me and feel free to either correct or inform me of the right terms. Here are links to pictures:
http://pongopix.com/upload2/4504/boat1.jpg http://pongopix.com/upload2/4504/boat3.jpg http://pongopix.com/upload2/4504/boat4.jpg http://pongopix.com/upload2/4504/boat5.jpg http://pongopix.com/upload2/4504/boat16.jpg http://pongopix.com/upload2/4504/boat18.jpg
I have been told that this is a tunnelhull. I am unable to find anything that lists what the maximum horsepower should be. There is a disclaimer on the dash which says the boat was built as a racing boat for competition only, may not comply with coast guard regs, etc.
The demensions are as follows:
The length is 10" 0", the width at the widest spot is 5', the distance from top to bottom at the rear (transom?) is 20". It currently has an Evinrude 30 outboard. The plate between the boat and engine (offset plate?) is 13 inches long and 7 inches from top to bottom. The distance from the very top of the engine to the very bottom is 44", from the bottom of the cowling to the very bottom is 32", the distance from the bottom of the cowling to the middle of the prop is 25", it is 38" from the top of the cowling to the middle of the prop.
Does this mean that this is a short-shaft, long shaft, 25" shaft?