PDA

View Full Version : Pros and cons, tips and tricks - Berk 12JC

core attitude
09-26-2002, 06:54 PM
For those of you running this pump or with intimate knowledge of it, can you share your experiance for improved performance of this model. I would also welcome the pros and cons of it before I find out for myself. :)
Thanks,
Pete

core attitude
09-27-2002, 09:09 AM
Bueller? Bueller?

miller19j
09-27-2002, 09:29 AM
I have asked similar questions and have not received any responses besides take it to……..he does great…….
I think that there are very few people that work on their own jets so finding people to answer this question is a hard one. I am planning on rebuilding mine this winter and have a few ideas on what I would like to do. I am no expert and have no idea what the result will be. But this is my plan.
1 Rebuild jet (replace all seals and bearings)
2 Tighten up tolerances ( mount new impeller on shaft and turn down and true up to match wear wring. I am not sure what clearance I want to run but I am thinking somewhere between .020 and .025)
3 Polish Bowl and intake ( Go though the bowl and smooth all the casting marks and rough edges)
4 Reduce exit nozzle diameter ( I am not sure if I am going to do this or not, Still have some research to do)
5 Polish and powder coat outside of jet (It might as well look nice)
Like I said I am no expert but this is my plan.

core attitude
09-27-2002, 09:47 AM
Thanks miller19j, I'll check back for updates on your progress. I've seen reference to a $2.00 upgrade, do you know what it is? (might as well start cheap :D )
Pete

miller19j
09-27-2002, 09:49 AM
core attitude:
Thanks miller19j, I'll check back for updates on your progress. I've seen reference to a $2.00 upgrade, do you know what it is? (might as well start cheap :D )
PeteCan of spray paint?

Jungle Boy
09-27-2002, 10:20 AM