PDA

View Full Version : What kind of boat did I buy???

Graymatter80
10-17-2007, 09:44 AM
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to the forum and the jet boat scene. I just bought what was described to me as a 1976 "Bonner Fantasy", 18.5'. The previous owner said this "Bonner" guy worked for Fantasy, then branched out on his own. The first three letters of the HIN are "FAN" which comes up in the database as Sparkman Marine, also known as Fantasy Boats in Santa Ana, CA. The whole time I was talking to the owner, I was thinking that maybe he had "Bonner" confused with "Bahner". Then the other day as I'm waxing it, I notice a barely legible name across the transom, long since painted over, which reads "Bahner Custom Boats, Santa Ana, CA". I was under the impression that Bahner didn't start making boats until 1977. The hull shape kind of suggests a Bahner, but like I said, I'm new to the jet boat scene. Any input you knowledgable folks can give me would be greatly appreciated!!!
http://a953.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/114/l_d36f91462eb051add6021e9743445948.jpg
http://a545.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/17/l_5c5ae6c44027e1c641a29338d51f8820.jpg
http://a300.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/45/l_a1e00e54040f81f671ff4368bf1acb9b.jpg
Part 2 entitled "What the hell is wrong with my motor" to come later.
Thanks!!

Longstr
10-17-2007, 09:57 AM
This may help...
http://www.uscgboating.org/recalls/mic_database.htm

pw_Tony
10-17-2007, 10:01 AM
I believe they're the same as a Southwind.

pro53
10-17-2007, 10:04 AM
Cool Lookin Boat :d

85CARRIBEAN
10-17-2007, 10:10 AM
I ''THINK'' you meant.....Bahner, not ''BONNER''! LOL. Nice buy. Good luck with that.

El Prosecutor
10-17-2007, 10:15 AM
Congrats on a nice boat. That is an unusual transom adapter too. Anyone else seen one like that?

kcsteck
10-17-2007, 10:29 AM
Bonner nick name for bonneville.I talked to that guy as well.He told me Bonneville I think.looks like a real nice boat. doesnt look like any Bahner I ever saw.
Casey

Longstr