PDA

View Full Version : RPM lmitations

delemorte
10-21-2007, 04:12 PM
So i am getting the boat squared away and was advised that it has no rev limiter. Seeing how i am a newby and dont was to one bust up my engine or two Die i want to install a rev limiter.
I found a few options out there but really did not know what kind of RPM a chevy 350 should be run at safely. Im not out to set any speed records and even if i could i would not as i have little to no experience. so whats a safe RPM to max out on something like this? Safe being a key word here as i can always turn it up as my experience grows.

Moneypitt
10-21-2007, 04:24 PM
That ditch pump on the back of the boat will regulate your RPMs....Just keep the intake in the water and you'll be OK.......As far as RPMs, SBC will rev quite high with no damage. It will quit making power, but still rev...Now with a pump attached, you might see 4500.......There are charts all over this jet forum about how much power it takes to spin the different impellers.....I don't have alot of faith in them, but they are here........Example, stock pump, mild BBC will usually see 5200 or so. A SBC is lacking the torque to get there, but 4500 is a reasonable expectation.........MP

BrendellaJet
10-22-2007, 05:11 PM
yep, no rev limiter needed, that jet pump will hold you back more than you want it to...

delemorte
10-22-2007, 05:56 PM
yep, no rev limiter needed, that jet pump will hold you back more than you want it to...
Ill take that at fact but for a SBC at what kind of RPMs will that thing tear it self apart. I'm not saying its gonna get there but for reference purposes so i know when too much is too much.

SmokinLowriderSS
10-22-2007, 06:27 PM
Ill take that at fact but for a SBC at what kind of RPMs will that thing tear it self apart. I'm not saying its gonna get there but for reference purposes so i know when too much is too much.
Depends on how you build and balance it.